Cheetahs In the Home?

I am a fanatic when it comes to cheetahs but cheetahs in the home…with my toddlers, well that raises a red flag in my mind. As this video portrays, the cheetahs are very tame and raised by humans alike the ambassadors I was working with in South Africa. Cheetahs are still cheetahs, however, and they absolutely belong to the wild will eventually take on wild actions. Generally, with the cheetahs in captivity where I spent my summer, the ambassador cubbies only deal with human interaction calmly until around 17 months of age. These cheetahs were to remain permanently on the farm for education and death prevention practices within the South African communities. The family claims they take the cheetahs “hunting” for when they presume they will release them into the wild but a cheetah in captivity raised by humans are no where close to living the life of a wild cheetah. It creates a dependency on basic life skills that may end in them being killed by lions, if the poachers don’t find them first. In the wild cheetahs rarely travel with each other and prefer the independent life after birth. There is a reason they are endangered! I do believe they do need our help breeding in captivity but they should see very little human interaction and cubs should remain with the mothers only if we can help it.

Jack Hanna, for the talkative man he is, seems very withholding as well. Don’t try this at home people!

This may be my dream, but I would not bring it in to the homestead!

What are your thoughts?

Categories: Everything., The Wild Things. | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.